Being able to speak a foreign language is an advantage these days. Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think children should begin in secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Speaking a foreign language is considered an essential skill and crucial advantage. Some people argue that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school age while others propose that it is more effective if kids learn a second language when they are in secondary school. From my perspective, primary school age is the best period for young people to learn another language. On the one hand, learning a second language at secondary school is wsupported by a lot of people for several reasons. There are some important and compulsory subjects such as mathematics, science, and the mother tongue that children study at primary school. If they have to learn another language at the same time, they might be stressed because of overloaded school work. Another reason is that it is thought that kids will not focus on studying the foreign language if they are too young. Letting children start learning a foreign language while they are in their secondary education also enables them to choose the language of their interest. This will help them learn language more efficiently. On the other hand, I believe that it is more efficient for pupils to study another language when they are in primary school. The first rationale for this is that young children can learn faster and pick up the pronunciation better compared to secondary school students. One good example of this is that most children in European countries learn their mother tongue and English at the same time during their elementary education. As a result, almost all of them can comprehend these languages before attending middle school. Another reason is that children’s parents believe that learning two or more language helps their kids enhance thinking ability and broaden their knowledge. According to a research, children who use bilingual language are more intelligent compared to those who just know one language. In sum, I would argue that children should learn another language as soon as possible, especially in elementary education instead of middle one.