Becoming a well-known person, like a popular movie icon or a sports personnel has benefits and drawbacks. Fame can bring enormous success to a person and can change one’s life

Becoming a well-known person, like a popular movie icon or a sports personnel has benefits and drawbacks. Fame can bring enormous success to a person and can change one’s life. Undoubtedly, having fame, success and popularity will bring extremely rewarding benefits to a person. Firstly, it can bring honor to the celebrity’s family. It is a fulfilling feeling to make your parents and loved-ones proud of what you have become. Secondly, unlike an ordinary person who earns normal range of salary becoming an iconic individual will reap the rewards financially. Having said that, this type of profession, such as becoming a movie actor, singer or dancer will have the potential of gaining huge earnings. It is a common notion nowadays, that becoming a celebrity is the easiest way to earn a lot and the short-cut to success. Apart from that, being a sports icon, such as becoming a famous basketball player or tennis enthusiast gives the people the opportunity to earn well. Michael Jordan and Roger Federer are some of the athletes that I know who are successful and have greatly established their careers in the field of basketball and tennis. A lot of people knows who Michael Jordan is. He now has his clothing and shoe line because of his fame, while Roger Federer became one of the iconic models promoting luxury brands such as Lacoste, Gucci and Chanel. Many people want to gain popularity to have a bright and secure future. Famous celebrities and sports athletes are becoming people’s role model nowadays. However, becoming famous isn’t always that beneficial. There are numerous disadvantages that these well-known people encounter. First, they cannot live a normal life. They cannot just simply go to public places like for instance malls and bars because people will come after them to ask for a picture or auto-graph. It’s difficult to enjoy going-out when public people admire you, unless, they make a booking or reservation in a high-end place to avoid the crowd. Second, being a public figure means that your life will be an open-book to the normal crowd. Gossip is rampant everywhere. It will be a normal for people to talk about your life and having privacy is quite difficult. Also, one must be prepared to encounter bashers, haters, and bullies. If an individual is famous it doesn’t mean that person can please everybody. So, one must be prepared for all these types of dilemmas. Depression is another issue that many acclaimed people encounter. A good example of this is the famous singer, namely, Kurt Cobain who committed suicide in the 90’s because fame was too much for him to handle. This is the main reason why many famous individuals feel unhappy and empty even if they are successful and rich. To sum up, whilst being famous brings benefits and drawbacks. I strongly believe that the benefits outweighs the problems. It’s just a matter of handling a person’s fame in a well-balanced and harmonious way.