Because of the progress in medicine, people are living longer now. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

For every period of history, humanity has tried to find the way to immortality. There is a fact that people's life expectancy is increasing due to medical development. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of a long life. On the one hand, an upward trend of life expectancy shows higher life living standards in the country. That means that there is scientific advancement, especially in medicine and (healthcare), which helps aids people in staying healthy as long as possible. Hence, this fact makes life in this country safer and more attractive. For example, in such developed countries as Japan and the USA there are 29 and 24 percent of people older than 65 years respectively in 2021. Thus, a high percentage of the older population indicates good living conditions in the country. On the other hand, the growth of the older population leads to negative changings changes in the economic sphere. That is because older people often cannot work and they live on the government's financial resources, which in its turn are provided by taxes. Therefore, the more people who get older the more taxes should be paid to the government by younger generations. For example, the United Nations in 2018 predicted that every sixth person in the world will be older than 65 years by the beginning of 2050, which means that every 2 workable people will "support" at least one elderly person. In other words, an increase in the number of the old population leads to financial burdens for the working population. In conclusion, although a rise of in life expectancy is an important indicator of countries' development, I think that economic problems caused by this phenomenon are critical