Because of the pressure of new subjects such as business studies, many schools have dropped sports or physical education (PE) form the curriculum. How important are sports or PE in a young person’s education? Should PE or sports be taken out of the curriculum?

With the advent of technology, sports are given the least priority in several educational institutions. Some schools take away physical education to give way to new subject matters such as business studies. However, I believe that physical education provides beneficial effects to students. To begin with, the lifestyle of today’s generation has changed dramatically. Younger people nowadays are often too fixated on latest innovations, leading to limited physical efforts. Consequently, this lifestyle caused lack of exercise and unbalanced diet. The number of overweight children are increasing rapidly and many youngsters are now diagnosed with lifestyle-induced diseases like diabetes and hypertension. That is why physical education plays an important role in a learner’s life. This subject helps the students to become physically fit and encourages them to become more productive. Furthermore, sport education aids in enhancing the social skills and teamwork among younger individuals. These characteristics are essential in their professional life, in which social abilities is a key factor in employment qualification. In addition, it supports the mental development of a child such as critical thinking and decision making abilities. Physical education also help the students in choosing their career paths. For example, juveniles who love basketball could become professional players. Sports, together with other academic subjects, mold the younger generation’s future and are all equally salient to be taught in schools. To sum it up, physical education aid in the development of physical, social and mental skills of students. Moreover, it promotes healthy lifestyle and might possibly curb the trend of illnesses brought by unhealthy habits.