Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road might cause some problems. What are the problems? What could be done to solve those problems?

In this day and age, it has become quite popular with cyclists to ride on the inside lane of the motorway in order to spend less time on commuting. Whilst some people believe that this also helps them to keep fit, I am of the opinion that the use of the same road would lead to the increasing number of road accidents as well as traffic jams. First and foremost, cycling on the motorway is unsafe for cyclists, since they tend to suffer serious injuries in car accidents or even die. It is mainly down to the fact that most of car drivers overtake the traffic flow by the inside lane and are highly likely not to distinguish cyclists, especially in the nightfall. To illustrate, in our country in spring-summer seasons the number of car crashes increases significantly, and the death toll on roads rises by 50%. As a consequence, cyclists are injured because they are more vulnerable in car accidents than drivers. To solve this problem, cyclists should be encouraged to ride on bike paths. Another argument that can be put forward is that the vast majority of cyclists violate traffic regulations on a regular basis. Hence, traffic flow upsurges and it results in severe traffic congestion. Therefore, if drivers did not face up to such obstacles as cyclists, traffic jams might not appear. To tackle this problem, cyclists should be fined heavily for breaking traffic rules. All in all, notwithstanding the fact that cycling is very healthy and comfortable for some people, it is not safe to use the same road with cars. To my mind, it is up to the government to resolve these issues. Namely, to reduce the number of deaths and car accidents.