Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basis are produced by other nations and are imported by transportation. what are advantages and disadvantages of this

Modern times is the era of globalisation, due to global economy, numerous products and commodities are being accessible to whole world by importing them. Abundant options of goods are available to consumers and it is boon for economy, while negative effect on local shopkeepers and buisnesses along with high cost of transportation are major drawbacks associated with it. On the one side, import of goods including daily need items enables a wide range of choice to customers. They have large number of options, from which they can make a relevant comparison to distinguish between different items. Moreover, not every country is self sufficient in all the needy items, so required things can be brought from other nations. Secondly, it aids in worldwide trade, which, in turn, promotes various buisnesses at global level. Additionally, large number of job opportunities are provided to people, hence, along woth improvement in economy, it also helps in overall development of a country. However, despite these advantages, local buisnessmen such as small shopkeepers and retailers are suffering a lot because people give preference to international brands instead of local items. Also, they are not well trained enough to compete with international buisnesses, whicj causes their small shops to shut down. This creates difficulty in earning livelihood. Furthermore, there are various food items that cannot be delivered to other nations because they get spoiled easily while transportation. For instance, fruits and vegetables lose their nutritional value when transported to other countries, leading to degradation of them. Therefore, import of products and food items has saveral demerits. To recapitulate, although buying different products from various nation boosts the economy and enhance the international trade, it affects the inhabitants by closing their small buisnesses and hence, government should give them financial support to compete at global markets.