beauty pageants are believed to set ridiculous standards in our society.

In this contemporary society, beauty competitions have become a prevalent and publicly recognized phenomenon all over the world. Although skeptics support the idea of its meanings, it may come at the expense of setting ridiculous standards in our societies. From my point of view, I do not totally agree or disagree with this statement. On the one hand, These contests do provide a huge platform to the candidates to present themselves in front of the world and help them become leaders of tomorrow but they do more damage than welfare. Firstly, these contests set unrealistic beauty standards for women and often promote stereotypes. These contests have eligibility restrictions on age, marriage and pregnancy and titles like ‘miss sparkling eyes’, ‘miss beautiful smile’ and ‘miss flawless skin’, which define how every physical feature should look like, have been widely spreaded. A big number of women develop low self-esteem, give up loving themselves and so many even become a victim of body shaming that also leads to poor mental health just because of these irrational quests to pedestalize a certain body type. On the other hand, beauty pageants may bring many valuable meanings to both candidates and our community. In the first place, this kind of competition not only creates ideal environment for contestants to express themselves but also is held wholeheartedly show respect to women. It may become a dynamic tool to put an end to gender discrimination, cheer women up and give many thanks to them for enduring tremendous strain. . Beauty pageants can be a mean of elevating candidates into higher level of knowledge. They can buil up their qualifications and test their comprehensions. Therefore, the young generation can gain experience andthen make a contribution to make progress or remarkable advances in our society. Also, these kinds of competitions create a competitive environment where participants can derive energy from their peer and rivals. As a result, they will have the urge to surpass and receive positive achievements. All things considered, beauty pageants bring both pros and cons, so candidates should make up their mind whether to take part in or not to stay away from negative impacts.