average, citizens in first world countries are growing obese at alarming rates. Governments must take action in order to stem this unhealthy epidemic. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

For the past decade, facts about the bursting rates of obesity have been seen in the headlines. Some people believe that since it is the fault of the individuals themselves, so they should be the ones to address their weight problems. However, I feel these people are obviously unable to help themselves, and it is the role of government to try and reverse the trend. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind my opinion. Firstly, many of the overeaters are living in first world nations, and, although they received a first world education, nutrition advice was clearly lacking. Seeing as education is the responsibility of the government, they should be the ones who step in and take action. Take my high school, for example. I took many advanced science classes, and the required health and physical education blocks, but I never received any information on healthy portion sizes, which people need to recognize among such food abundance. Not only is there a necessity of nutrition education, but there is also a need for community action to encourage active citizens, due to there being nothing to stop people from getting in their cars, going home to the couch, and consuming a bag of chips and a pint of ice cream. Since motivation to be active is clearly lacking from a large part of the population, the government should take it upon themselves to stem this unhealthy epidemic and force to be society healthier and therapy, happier and more productive. In sum, people are too heavy and this excess is literary lethal, the government must step in. I hope that in the near future, there are more health policies that cause obesity rates to recede.