As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the most topical issues in modern society is the social obligations of businesses. There are those who say that businesses should only focus on making a profit, however others believe that compnies should also contribute to society. I completely agree with the idea that businesses should do more for society than simply making money, and I will set out my reasons below There are a number of reasons why people believe that businesses’ sole reponsibility is to make a profit. Firstly, businesses must make money in order to survive in a competitive world. If a company does not make money, it will go out of business, and this will cause people to lose their jobs and negatively affect the economy. Secondly, if entrepreneurs know that a significant proportion of their profits will go to social causes, it may discourage them from starting new businesses in the first place. On the other hand, there are also strong arguments for the idea that busnesses have a wider role to play in society. Perhaps the strongest argument in favour of this viewpoint is in the area of environmental responsibility. For example, all businesses should make sure that their products and waste products do not pollute the environment. Secondly, businesses should also spend some of their profits on charity programs. If companies help to improve the communities around them, they will benefit in the long run. Having considered both sides of the issue, I would argue that companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives. After all, it is in their own best interests in the long term to help to develop their economies and societies.