As the population is getting steadily older, some people think that the seniors are a burden to society and should care for themselves, while others believe that the government should financially support retired people.

Nowadays, our world is witnessing an ageing population. Some people believe that retired people are a burden to the society, while others think the government should provide financial support to the elderly. The argument that older people should be cared for is a subject that is both supported and rejected by many. This essay will analyse this problem before declaring a position. On the one hand, there is no doubt that the government should support older people by investing in construction of care and nursing homes, where the elderly can live full-time. By doing so, authorities will be able to provide constant medical care and supervision for the elderly. In addition, it can help the families by taking of the burden of caring for their older relatives, hence, more people will be able to work. It is important to mention that government should care for the elderly because the majority of them spent their whole life paying taxes in order to get social support when they retire. So, pensions should be paid to older people. On the other hand, there is an argument that retired people do not contribute to the society in any way, they no longer pay taxes, they do not work. Therefore, at some point the government will run out of money needed for providing social support and there will not be enough labor force available, leading to an economic collapse. This evidence makes it doubtful that the government should support the elderly financially. In conclusion, both sides of the argument regarding supporting retired people have strong support. Despite the fact that it is common to think that older people are a burden to society, I believe that they are not. The government should support people financially after they retire. Personally, I think that older people deserve to be cared for by the government.