As the eventual purpose of education is to apply knowledge into practical situations

As the eventual purpose of education is to apply knowledge into practical situations, there is an increasing trend of practical assessment rather than written exams. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this tendency. First of all, practical assessment can examine applicants' ability to apply knowledge into real-life situations and their practical skills, which is vital in some fields. For example, doctors must have excellent practice skills to do surgery. Therefore, it is more critical to test their abilities to practice academic knowledge through practical evaluation. On the contrary, practical assessment is not always the best way to test someone. There are many factors influencing one person's capacity to excellently performe. Thus, disadvantageous factors can lead to misleading evaluation of one's true abilities. For example, a potential doctor with intelligence and great academic knowledge can perform badly in practical test as he/she does not have enough conditions to practise frequently. This eventually results in misevaluation of people. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of the movement to practical exams. Although this kind of examination can test people practical knowledge and skills, it can lead to misevaluation in some cases. Hence, it is recommended that written exams and practical evaluation are used together.