As technology is developing, the need for drivers in automobiles will diminish to the point where all cars wi

As technology is developing, the need for drivers in automobiles will diminish to the point where all cars will be driverless. In my opinion, the benefits of cars without drivers are greater than any downsides they might bring. Autonomous cars are controlled by computers which are more precise and fast than the human brain. This results in them being more careful on the roads and much quicker response time in avoiding accidents. Furthermore, the programmed automobiles always abide by traffic rules as opposed to humans who always break them by drunk driving or surpassing the speed limit and causing injuries and even life loss. To illustrate, a statistics published by Tesla - a major autonomous car manufacturer in 2017 indicates that the number of people dying as a result of human drivers is more than twice the figure for the artificial intelligence-powered drivers. Despite the above benefits, driverless cars have several drawbacks. A great number of people are making money by working as a driver and it will make them lose their only source of income unless they master a new skill. Furthermore, since the driverless cars are more or less a piece of software, they are prone to hacking. For instance, in the sci-fi blockbuster "The Fate of the Furious", the bad guys hijack hundreds of "smart" cars and use them for their purpose. Even though this large-scale attack is possible in the future, it requires deep knowledge of computers and a weak security system. To conclude, while a portion of the workforce is going to suffer as a result of driverless cars, as well as security problems, a lower number of road accidents greatly outweighs them and autonomous automobiles are more beneficial to humanity.