As most people spend their major part of adult life at work, job satisfaction becomes an important element in individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

In recent times, the global happiness index has been put on spotlight from the worker's viewpoint. Since most of the employees spend a large amount of time at their workplaces, it is essential to know what parameters will make them happy. Also, to know whether their expectations and their real time work are at symmetry. This essay will share these viewpoints. A famous survey conducted by the Nielson Company on almost 2000 employees of Amazon and Reddit reveals the reasons behind their happiness at work. The results were astonishing. Respect and accreditation are the only two major parameters which the employees were vouched for. Furthermore, imagine a place where a sub-ordinate was mistreated or underpaid for his astounding work, will he be contended to return to his workplace on the next day? No sensible humans would forfeit his respect or his hard work. That is one potential reason why employees are switching across companies, unlike in the past where employees worked for one organisation for close to 3 decades. Having said that, the biggest elephant in the room is whether the employee’s expectations were fulfilled at their workplace? Every blue collar worker has an enormous number of dreams and unfortunately not all of his dreams are going to be true. The reason behind this dissatisfaction is due to humans' inconceivable expectations. Right from a level of a junior assistant till the highest level of bureaucrats, there is always this lingering phenomenon wherein, they believe the skills required for their present work is asymmetrical with their qualifications. Had their expectations were satisfied they would not learn anything new. To recapitulate, happiness at workplace varies with each one of us. However, keeping achievable expectations help us in a long run by contributing our efforts towards the present work as well as equipping us to learn new technologies. If expectations are unlikely to become true, happiness will disappear. Therefore, expect lesser and achieve greater.