As languages such as English, Spanish, and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

In this globalization era, the tendency of learning majority languages has increased. It is widely believed that this phenomenon will threat the existence of indigenous languages. Many nations, especially in the third world, have passed various regulations to protect their mother tongues. Some people claim that those steps are futile. However, I believe that the governments need to protect the minority ones. To begin with, it is argued that those developed countries do not have to protect their minority languages due to plenty of reasons. First, the extinction of languages is a natural process, which is inevitable. The globalization era has led to form a “global village”, where all countries will transform into one society. As consequence, the minority languages will be dominated by the majority ones as a daily language, and therefore people will start to forget the less-known languages. Furthermore, people learning new languages is a positive trend, which is needed in today’s high-competitive era. For instance, the ability to speak majority languages such as English or Mandarin has become the prerequisite skills to be hired in most companies. Nevertheless, I disagree with those aforementioned arguments. I believe that the governments should preserve their origin languages. First, there are thousands of languages has disappeared. Research shows that 5000 out of 7500 languages are extinct due to the globalization repercussion. Foreign wave has threated the local languages through various platforms. To illustrate, most Indonesian people prefer to learn Korean language than their local languages because of the Korean movie exposures. Moreover, languages are the primary aspect in cultures because it represents country’s identities. Hence, by protecting the languages, it means that the governments protect their national identities. In conclusion, some people claim that countries do not have to protect their less well-know languages because the extinction of minority languages in unavoidable, and it is a positive development to people learning popular languages. However, I disagree with those statements. Governments protecting their indigenous languages is crucial because the foreign wave is uncontrollable, and languages are a part of national identity.