As languages such as English, Spanish, and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

Nowadays, due to globalization, many countries around the world have good access and decent equipment in order to create opportunities for their citizens to learn famous foreign languages. Hence, many famous foreign languages such as English, Spanish, and mandarin, become more common to be used by local society. With multicultural environment, many people afraid that their native language or other minority languages will disappear. This essay will present the benefits, followed by a discussion of the drawbacks from this practice. In recent time, many people claim that learning new languages is beneficial in terms of education and career. As international languages, English and mandarin have become essential in every aspect that related with education and workplace. People with ability to speak more than one language might have better opportunities as professionals in their job. Professionals who speak more than one language tend to be offered higher salaries than their counterparts as they can give more to the organization. For example, when Hawaii company in Indonesia need to face important clients that came from China who could not speak English, staffs who can speak Mandarin are very important to the company. However, the practice of speaking famous and most used foreign languages, like English, mandarin and Spanish, can be tremendous to other minority languages or even native language of a country. Nowadays, English, mandarin and Spanish are widely taught and spoke in school and many educational institutions. As a result, native language can disappear since children tend to be more interested learning other languages than their own mother tongue language. Furthermore, if the practice of using English, Spanish and mandarin continue, then other minority or native languages, which are an important culture element that represents deep values can be replaced and not be used anymore. Hence, it is paramount to encourage the young generation to not only learn and speak famous foreign language, but at least they can understand their own language. To conclude, many foreign languages such as English, Spanish, and mandarin, become more common to be used in local society because they have strong correlation with decent education and job opportunity. However, practicing only those language can create issues for other languages to fade away. Therefore, it is vital to introduce other languages, especially native languages to the young generations, so that they can understand and keep the value with them.