As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cant't afford it,

Food, clothing and shelter are basic necessities for survival. Though it seems justified for government to provide basic housing to people who can't afford it, do not fully agree to this statement. India in the second most populated country and is still considered a developing nation. Through the financial budget, it is abundantly clear that priority is given to reduce the burden of rising cost on the working class. A portion of the budget is allocated for welfare of the underprivileged as well. Hence, alloting additional amount purely to accommodate free housing is near to impossible. In order to facilitate this, the State will start levying taxes from waged workers to bear the expenses. This will have a detrimental effect on demand and supply and the country's fragile economy. Instead, I believe NGOs should take this up as they receive funds from government and various wealthy individuals from across the globe. This funds come from sources who give it willingly and are not bearing the brunt of mandatory payment. This, thereby is a more beneficial approach to bringing in the required monetary help. Having foreign currency come into India in fact has a positive impact on the economy in terms of enhanced forex rates and since these funds are provided by external sources, NGOs are bound to account for every penny spent. This therefore abolishes any chanc of fraudulent attempt and ensures transparency. To conclude, it is essential to provide free housing to those who can't afford it, but it doesn't necessarily have to be the government.