Artificial Intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom. Do you agree with this statement? What is an alternative to traditional face-to-face teaching?

Computer programmes designed for machines to perform certain tasks that require human intelligence has shown an increase in teaching and learning. I disagree that artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom because some aspects of teaching require supervision which computer programmes may not be able to completely perform. In classrooms at all levels, feedbacks are very helpful to improve the teaching and learning experience. One of the ways good feedback is obtained is by direct supervision. For example in the nursery school, children may learn how to recite the letters of the alphabets from computer programmes that aid learning but different children have unique challenges in writing certain alphabets and require the presence of a teacher to supervise their writing tasks to ensure they use the right approach and do their tasks correctly. The supervision of the teacher may go to the extent of holding the hand of the child to write, a task which artificial intelligence may be unable to perform. Higher forms of learning may however use more of artificial intelligence but that would also depend on the kind of course taught. Though in medical schools there is telemedicine and there are virtual sessions in topics such as dissection, clinical teaching on hospital wards cannot be completely replaced by computerised programmes using aspects of human intelligence. Apart from the method of student – teacher interaction in person which is a well recognised way of teaching and learning, virtual teaching is another method. This involves a student using a computerised devise for example a phone, laptop, desktop and connecting via the internet to a teacher who may be in any part of the world. This method of learning has been used by many institutions to offer an alternative for online courses, which is very flexible for most students. At all levels of education, institutions have online classroom sessions which are either live or pre recorded videos. Thus from the comfort of one’s home, vehicle, office, many individuals could be taught via the internet with as much productivity as would have been obtained during a face-to face teaching session. For example during the whole of 2020, online teaching became the more preferred way of teaching as part of measures of social distancing to help fight the spread of SARS Co-V. More institutions resorted to on-line methods for learning in order to help continue their course work in spite of the challenge of no social gatherings. Many people were able to connect to classroom sessions and had fruitful teaching and learning sessions. To conclude, artificial intelligence is a helpful tool to be used in the classroom but the need for supervised work at certain levels of teaching and learning would still require the help of teachers in the classroom. Therefore teachers may not be replaced soon by artificial intelligence. Virtual learning has also become an acceptable option to teaching and learning, replacing the traditional personal interaction between student and teacher.