Art is considered as an important part of society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Art, just like language, is fundamental to human expressions. It can be used to empower and encourage someone and is a means to release pent-up emotions. For some it is also a form of income while to others it is merely a hobby or conversation starter. So how can the system let go of such an important means of expression? I am of the firm opinion that art should be an important part of a child's academic curriculum. Below is a outline of the main reasons in support of the above. In a child's formative years, they should be exposed to a variety of skills and experiences. This gives them an opportunity to discover and develop their niche and area of interests. An ideal educational institution should look to develop a child wholly rather than only their academic capabilities. Moreover, to children, art can be a fun means of communication. They generally respond excellently to extra-curricular activities like painting and singing and it helps in improving their cognitive skills. Art is an important means to express one's emotions. It can be used to describe simple pleasures and feelings of adoration, while depicting complex and darker emotions like anger, guilt and lust. Among children, this could point towards any detrimental conditions that they might be subjected to. It is well said that All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. While, academics do have a major placement in a child's education but arts and related skills should not be neglected in a quest to do so. Recent studies show that art has been gaining popularity in primary and secondary schools. In conclusion, I state that is a positive trend and should be adopted openly.