Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Art is perceived as a beautiful representation of a variety of cultures around the globe. However, currently people are showing less and less interest in art and more and more passion in science, technology and business. In this essay, I will analyse the main reasons behind this trend and propose possible solutions to boost public interest in arts. Individuals are less attracted by arts mainly because of lower salaries and fewer jobs at the workplace. Firstly, it is a well-known fact that artists are paid less compared to other professionals. For example, in China, it is reported that the average pay of workers in the financial field is around 15, 000 RMB per month while that of either a painter or a musician is around 8000 RMB per month. We can find an obvious difference in this aspect. Moreover, there are more job opportunities for people like doctors and engineers than a sculptor, a writer and other art employees. Therefore, it is the problems of unsatisfactory income and insufficient positions that result in the artistic apathy. There are some feasible measures which could revive the popularity of art simultaneously. One way of doing this is to make art a viable career option. The government should create jobs in this sector by opening art galleries, holing musical events and organizing other cultural programs. At the same time, the government should support art and artists by giving special incentives if masterpieces of art are produced. Such policies will encourage numerous students to pursue art at school, especially in post-secondary institutions. Additionally, a balance in the education system between art and STEM disciplines could also bring tremendous benefits as more attention would be drawn towards the domains of art and culture. In conclusion, financial concerns destroy the popularity of artist. However, by increasing talent demands of the artwork and improvising school syllabi, the new generation could be attracted towards the long-forgotten profession of art and thus the recovering of the popularity of art would be achieved.