Art classes such as painting or drawing should be mandatory in high schools.

Some people think that Art classes such as painting or drawing should be mandatory in high schools. While the classes could benefit the children development, I would argue that they should not be included in the compulsory curriculum in high schools. To begin with, there are several advantages of learning to draw and paint. The children ability of imagination might be increasingly enhanced in the process of drawing or painting, which partly contributes to their well-balanced development. For example, even when producing a really simple painting of houses or a tree, children need to imagine the real ones and vividly translate them into their works of art. Second, since children have opportunities to be early in contact with art subjects in schools, some children would be distinguished as outstanding talents for art. This would give them more time to practice before becoming famous artists in the future. However, I believe that students should not be required by schools to learn art classes because of various reasons. The first one is that because not many students have passion and talent to pursue the career of art in the future, forcing all students to spend time on learning to draw or paint is unnecessary. For instance, If they have a clear career objective to work in the financial industry, learning subjects of art is a waste of time and resources. Additionally, adding art classes to schools' curriculums simply increases pressure on learners, which reduces the quality of learning other core subjects such as mathematics or civic education which are indispensable for their lives. In conclusion, while painting or drawing have a positive impact on human development to some extent, I believe that they should be optional subjects because they are not suitable for all students.