Art and music should not be mandatory at school

In this contemporary life, some people think that students should not be compulsory to take part in art and music classes. However, I firmly believe that there are several benefits of learning these subjects. To begin with, participating in art and music classes allows students to foster their creativity. The main reason for this is that students have a desire to express their own creative and unique ideas. However, the subjects that relate to the scientific or social aspects often restrict them to develop their various imagination. Studies have shown that children that are participated in art or music classes tend to be more creative and sensible than others. Consequently, they will be more self-confident and they can also perform well their daily tasks. To sum up, art and music help to promote children’s creativeness. Moreover, allowing children to take part in this extracurricular classes can concurrently give them opportunities to relieve stress. A number of subjects such as mathematics or chemistry always make students feel stressful because of the exams and a variety of difficult problems. Therefore, it is completely necessary for students to take interest in art or music activities. Furthermore, when students take part in these classes, they will have chance to make new friend and develop their communication skill. For example, a Vietnamese school carried out a survey to find out about students’ interest in art and music classes. As a result, the proportion of students that want to establish these classes was significantly high. In conclusion, students should be mandatory to join art and music classes in order to develop themselves. I suggest that schools should create condition for these classes.