arranged marriages lead to successful marriages

As we grow older, marriage has become a common topic to talk about. Since in this day and age, potential soulmates are everywhere. Since marriage is considered important in some families, parents often opted to arrange marriages for their kids. Arranged marriage is a marriage arranged by family members, usually the parents. In other words, it is defined as a marriage where the marital partners are chosen by others, based on their considerations. Believe it or not, according to a 2012 study by Statistic Brain, 53. 25% of marriages are arranged worldwide. The global divorce rate for arranged marriages was 6. 3%, which could be an indicator of the success rate of arranged marriages. Hence, I agree with the statement that arranged marriages lead to successful marriages. I strongly believe that arranged marriages tend to be more successful than love marriages because they have a strong desire to understand one another, they couples have blessings from their parents, and in arranged marriages couples have low expectations towards each other. First and foremost, arranged marriages are considered more successful than love marriages because they have a strong desire to understand one another. Since they barely knew anything about each other they’re more curious about their partner. For example, they will naturally engage in a conversation and discover each other likes and dislikes. As was anticipated, love grows more by time for the couple, day by day. As a couple spends more time with each other the bond gets stronger. However, in love marriages, couples tend to get bored of each other after a few years of their marriage because they have already lost the spark that they used to have when they first started dating. Therefore, understanding each other eventually will result in a long-lasting union. Next, arranged marriages are considered more successful than love marriages because they have blessings from their parents. Its common knowledge that one must marry someone their parent respect and approves of. Couples in arranged marriage don’t have to go through that trouble because their parents already consent to them getting married. On the other hand, plenty of couples in love marriages have to divorce because their parents didn’t like their partner. Plus, usually in arranged marriages families from both the bride and the groom already knew each other so there will be no problem in them getting along. Hence, one must get their parents blessing to get married to have a successful marriage. Finally, arranged marriages are considered more successful than love marriages because arranged marriages couples have low expectations towards each other. Low expectations can play a huge role in arranged marriages which can lead to an unexpected successful marriage. In this case, the marriage works out well because things aren’t as bad after all. Low expectations lead to low disappointments. None of the partners know exactly what to expect from the other, so they are eventually happily surprised by what their marriage has become or has yet to become. Oppositely, couples in love marriage usually have to divorce because their partner didn’t meet their expectations. Consequently, arranged marriage couples will do anything to strengthen their alliance. At the end of the day, Marriage is a marriage- love or arranged. Both require the same level of commitment. I believe that we need to get rid of the bad stigma around arranged marriages because they also have their benefits. After seeing these arguments, it's clear as day that arranged marriages do lead to successful marriages.