Around the world, people are living and staying healthy for longer and longer. What changes does this bring to today’s society? Are these changes good or bad?

Nowadays, people are living longer than ever before. It brings several problems that require changes in today's society to adapt to an aging population. Firstly, more people are needed to care for the elderly. Elderly care takes different forms, ranging from medical attention to personal care such as feeding and specialized assistance for those who have difficulty moving around. However, few people like this type of work because it is ill-paid and uninteresting. Secondly, elderly people do not want to stop working because they want to have an income and stay active as long as possible, so they do not quit their jobs. As a result, it is harder for young people to find work. Last but not least, medicine has advanced increasing life expectancy in a short period. Better health in aged people is due to public health efforts to improve living conditions and prevent disease. In addition, it may have been necessary to develop new medicines for the illnesses the elderly could come down with.