Arguments for and Against the Death Penalty

Crime, terrorism, as well as murder rates, are on the rise in our generation. To deal with this problem, a mechanism such as life in prison or the death penalty depending on the severity of the offence should be implemented. The government should enhance such regulations in terms of generating a high level of concern around society and also provide a secure ruling to its citizens. If there is no mechanism to prevent such disturbances, it will have a significant impact on society's livelihood. Consequently, I believe that capital punishment is required to implicate a fear in those who commit such violence. To begin with, it is a powerful barrier to large crimes. Showing the consequences of a person's behaviour is the best way to discourage them from committing a crime. Capital punishment gives a message that you won’t be given any second chance. This message is critical in some societies in order to reduce crime rates. You can't guarantee that the same offender won't do the crime again if you don't use capital punishment. In all countries, you can't actually manage crime and serious lawbreaking with minimal fines. Despite the fact that most countries have abolished capital punishment there is still death penalty in most Islamic states. For instance, hanging is the only common method of execution in Iran, usually carried out in prison. Secondly, the government spends an extensive sum of budget on the maintenance of prisoners with lifetime sentences. So, by capital punishment the administration can get rid of criminals who are involved in major crimes, such as murders, terrorists, drug smuggling, rape, and therefore save money on prison costs. To summarise, capital punishment is necessary to reduce crime rates while ensuring a secure living.