Arguments for and against forcing young people into jobs that are not paid:

" Nowdays, the number of students graduating from prestigious universities is higher than ever. All of them aim to get the most beneficial job in therms of money and pleasure. Many of those jobs are not available for young people who just got out of college, leaving them unemployed. Should college leavers be forced to do unpaid work in this situation? In my opinion, students who have graduated should be encouraged to do any type of work, even if it is paid work or not. First and foremost, doing an unpaid work can give young people the chance to gain valuable work experience. Considering that companies prefer to pay people with previous experience in the work flow, gaining dexterity can help with future job applications, employers being more convinced by the competence of the candidate for the job. For example, there are companies in the IT industry which require work experience from graduates who have just got out of college. Because they don't have the requirements, most of them get rejected. There is where unpaid job experience makes the difference between getting a job and being rejected. Secondly, society can benefit from the unpaid work of young people. Jobs in the local community can benefit not only the society, but young people as well, in gaining work experience and social skills that could not be accomplished otherwise. In conclusion, school and college graduates should be encouraged to do unpaid work, the experience bringing them unexpected benefits for their future. "