Are tutorial schools needed to overcome the exam?

With the majority of going to university, local senior formers are anxious about their results in HKDSE. Therefore, they would like to attend tutorial schools to get immense success in this public examination. Notwithstanding the effects of those schools, others think this way of learning is increasing the pressure of studying in senior forms. In this essay, whether local senior students should attend tutorial schools will be discussed. The most irresistible advantage of attending tutorial schools is the effective shortcuts provided by the tutors. With the limited time of regular schools, students may be unable to absorb the knowledge efficiently, and so they may learn fewer things than others. As a result, tutorial schools provide a bunch of notes. The tutors give the steps of answering and also spotting the questions, guiding students for the fast track to the answers. Therefore, such a method can easily give them more strategies as they can before the examination and students can outsmart others. Another advantage of attending tutorial schools is that students can gain extra knowledge to cope with public examinations. For example, the tutors of those schools would like to teach students more about the background of each text which needs to recite in the HKDSE. Therefore, students are more likely to have a better understanding of the texts. Besides, the knowledge can be used in the writing and speaking papers so senior formers can apply the knowledge to make themselves stand out among others. Apart from the two convincing advantages of attending tutorial schools, there are still some disadvantages. One obvious disadvantage is that attending tutorial schools is expensive for senior students. For example, if F4-F5 students want to apply for the lessons of YY Lam from Beacon College, they will need to spend $7000 for ten sections. No matter how useful the notes are, it may be unbecoming to pay that massive amount of money. Another disadvantage is that attending tutorial classes builds up the stress of studying. Senior formers usually have demand for homework, tests and also SBA. Furthermore, they will be tired after having whole day lessons. If they attend too many classes, their time may insufficient for other subjects. Therefore, inadequate time may become one of the pressures apart from revisions. To conclude, the benefits of attending tutorial schools are that local senior formers can get shortcuts and gain extra knowledge from the tutors. The drawbacks of the way of learning can be a waste of money and increasing the pressure of studying. As an F4 student, I believe that senior form students should not attend the tutorial schools. However, they should not rely exclusively on the tutorials schools as well.