Are sports necessary in our daily life?

People have different views about whether sports are necessary or not. While some people argue that sports are indispensable, others believe that they are just merely a form of entertainment. In my opinion, I think that although sports do not directly contribute to increasing the salary of people, they play a vital role in enhancing people’s health. On the one hand, it is true that for the most people, who are not professional athletes, playing sports does not help in terms of financial support. Nowadays, many people are struggling with earning their living and still do not have enough money to cover their utility bills. Hence, there is no room for sports in their life due to their lack of time. A person who has a nine-to-five job, for example, barely can find time to rest, much less to play sports. Besides, there are many sports that require costly equipment such as tennis or golf, which is too hard for average people to afford. Therefore, the popularity of those sports is still limited in a small part of society which are the rich. In addition, most children are taught to take education more seriously than sports. Thus, it is not so hard to understand the reason why sports are underrated. On the other hand, it is hard to deny that people’s health is significantly dependent on whether people play sports or not. This is because playing sports not only strengthens people’s physical condition but also enhances their mental health. A person who exercises regularly by playing sports will become more flexible and rarely suffer from diseases than a person that does not play sports. Moreover, playing sports also makes people happier by releasing hormones in our body such as dopamine or endorphins. That is the reason why people who play sports regularly will have more positive emotional status, which may help them perform better at work, contributing to improving their productivity as well. In spite of not involving in increasing people’s salary directly, it is true that playing sports partially does make their income higher indirectly. In conclusion, while playing sports is a form of leisure activity, it seems to me that sports are needed in everyone's life.