Are public libraries necessary or useless?

Libraries are no longer as important as they used to be. Once upon a time, any major research problem was solved at the library, and many people even went there for entertainment. However, now their popularity has declined and some say that there are no longer important. This essay will look at both sides and suggest that libraries still have some purpose. Those who say that libraries are now out-dated claim that the internet has completely replaced them by providing virtually all of the information known to humanity for free. Moreover, rather than going to a special building, that free information is available in your pocket. This is a very good point: however, it overlooks the fact that not all information is in fact online, and certainly not all that is online is trustworthy Libraries are places where information has been professionally collected and organized, making it easy to find. The information gathered here is assembled into books and journals that have been peer reviewed and are therefore more trustworthy than a blog post or YouTube video. If it is verifiable facts that you want, the library is far more reliable than searching the internet. Libraries also have vast archives of local data that are not available online, and so if you are doing specialized research, a trip to the library can prove invaluable. In conclusion, it may seem reasonable to suggest that libraries are no longer important, having been supplanted by the internet, but they still in fact have some important qualities that make them necessary.