Are famous people treated unfairly by the media? Should they be given more privacy, or is the price of their fame an invasion into their private life?

In the recent years, there has been a drastic increase in media coverage regarding private celebrity lives. While some people believe that privacy invasion is the cost of being famous others disagree and believe that media does not treat the celebrities right. In this essay, I will discuss both point of views and lend my partial support to the latter argument. Being famous comes with responsibility and the media holds people accountable. Sometimes fame gained in a very short period of time can make people feel invincible and arrogant. For instance, a famous actor in India, Salman Khan, who became popular after 3 movies at the age of seventeen, was involved in a drunk driving incident in which a few people lost their lives. The actor was released because of his influence in the industry, however, it was the media coverage which assured that the case went to tria. If there was no media to keep a check on celebrities, the power would fall more in the hands of people who are famous. On the other hand, the media has its own low points during its coverage. For instance, the accident during which Princess Diana lost her life while she was attempting to ward of photographers. Moreover, the media also seems to feed on the lowest points in a person’s life like Britney Spears’ meltdown which did not have any impact on society, but rather it was used to make a mockery of the star. Furthermore, it is also important to consider that there is a young vulnerable population reading material published by the media which in return also influences how they think and form opinions. Hence, the media needs to be more responsible about its coverage. In conclusion while the coverage of celebrity’s private life by the media can help keep celebrities in check, monetizing someone else’s sadness and mocking someone suffering from a mental health condition is inhumane. Hence, I believe that the coverage of the private life of celebrities should be more restricted and should only be published if the story can have a potentially positive impact on the society.