Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace. Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology has revolutionized our lives. The advancement in technology has been enabling professionals to work remotely away from their offices. In my opinion, the advantages of this development outweigh the downsides. This change has benefitted working professionals in many ways. First and foremost, in this hectic and tedious work environment, people face challenges to strike a balance between work and personal life. Information technology allows those professionals to work from the home and spend quality time with their loved ones. It not only improves their productivity but also reduces the work related stress. Moreover, it enables the employers to save their capital on operational expenses such as office rent, workers’ travelling cost and stationary expenses. Therefore, mobility due to information technology is a beneficial development for the people of all walks of life. However, this innovation has many inevitable downsides. Firstly, the complacent attitude of people while working remotely is one of the key drawbacks which affects the work deadlines and end results. People generally take the casual approach and work as per their convenience when they work remotely. For example, in offices, it is mandatory for employees to spend a certain number of hours of working; however, people generally spend less time on work when they work remotely. Hence, this phenomenon is disadvantageous for employees lacking discipline and the companies employing them. In conclusion, despite the fact that working remotely is not ideal for employees lacking self discipline, I assert that benefits like better work life balance and less stress level outweigh those disadvantages.