Are cameras in public places an invasion of privacy?

These days, with the rapid growth of ultramodern technology, we tend to use cutting-edge gadgets for almost everything. And by that, I mean to imply that cameras, once considered extravagant, are now seen everywhere. This increase in camera use in public places raises the question of whether cameras invade people’s personal space. In my opinion, they have nothing to do with that problem if used appropriately, since they bring us various benefits. Firstly, cameras are excellent security guards and detectives. When an area has security cameras, it always gives us a sense of feeling safe and secure. Shops, train stations, banks and even homes have security cameras, and thanks to this, many crimes have been prevented. Even if a crime did happen, we still investigate it pretty quickly. Who can imagine what a mess it might be if security cameras never exist? Secondly, not only do cameras help the police and security staff, but they also work for educational purposes. Kids are known for their unpredictable nature, and that’s why parents and teachers have to keep an eye on them all the time. And guess who lends a hand? Camera, of course. It gives the responsible party a chance to take a break and still know what’s going with their children or students. In other words, cameras help kids have a better upbringing and education. However, if cameras are hidden or placed in inappropriate places on purpose, they can bring serious harm. Sometimes, they are the means of sexual harassment. Besides, should a public place have too many cameras, we may feel watched all the time, thus making us uncomfortable. So, for cameras to not invade people’s privacy, they will have to be used properly. In conclusion, cameras do less harm than good to us. Nevertheless, we need to use them for righteous purposes, install them in proper locations and not overuse them. I think this technology has multiple potentials and that we can utilise it for many possible applications in the future.