Apartment buildings are becoming increasingly common as a choice of accommodation in a number of cities across the world.

Apartment buildings are becoming increasingly common as a choice of accommodation in a number of cities across the world. In my opinion, the disadvantages associated with such housing outweigh the advantages in regards to the standard of living conditions specifically for children and the elderly. Nowadays, Such accommodation choices are becoming more common due to overpopulation and the land shortage it is causing. As a result, Many cities are being pressured to build such buildings to address the issue because, it requires a smaller land to accommodate many people compared to villas and other houses. However, living in apartment blocks have many disadvantages. Firstly, Apartments don't provide enough space to raise children and have a bigger family. In other words, it is not a suitable place in terms of not having a space for children to run around and enjoy their childhood. Further more, there are risks associated with living in higher floors. For instance, Children can fall over the window if they are not being monitored regularly. The other group of people that struggle with such living condition is the elders as it is difficult for them to move freely and be independent in accessing basic things such as having a place to socialize with friends. Secondly, people living in flats have little privacy and there are also many distractions such as loud noises that disturb them as the houses are closely compacted. On the other hand, Cities are becoming more crowded with these buildings therefore, having little space for plantation and this has affected the climate in a negative way. In conclusion, Despite apartment buildings providing a solution to the current housing issues, there are numerous problems rising owing to this trend.