Animal Testing Should Not Be Banned

Animal testing is doing scientific tests on animals when developing drugs or new products. Allowing or banning experiments on animals is a very controversial issue. I think that animal testing should not be banned. One reason why animal testing should not be banned is researchers need to test medical treatments. Medical treatments should be tested before applying them to people because they can be dangerous to humans. Animals are genetically similar to human beings. In addition, the results of medical treatments that are applied to humans and the results of medical treatments that are applied to animals are approximately the same. As a result of this situation, researchers can test medical treatments on animals to see what will happen when they apply them to humans. Another reason why animal testing should not be banned is it helps ensure the safety of drugs. Newly developed drugs can be dangerous to people. Furthermore, researchers should know the effects of newly developed drugs before people start to use them. As I mentioned above, animals are genetically similar to human beings. As a consequence of it, the safety of drugs can be ensured by animal testing. Some people argue that animal testing is very expensive and because of it, it should be banned. It is true that animal testing is expensive. However, no matter how expensive it is, it should be done for the development of science. For instance, the lives of thousands of people can be saved by a drug which is developed by using animal tests. In addition, saving the lives of thousands of people is much more important than money. To sum up, in my opinion, experiments on animals should not be banned. Animal testing is a terrible thing to do but unfortunately, researchers have to do it because they need to test medical treatments. Furthermore, researchers should ensure the safety of drugs by animal testing.