Animal testing should be banned immediately.

Using animals for the sake of research has been a heated debate topic for decades. Some people state that animal experimentation might have led to some breakthroughs in the past. Despite that fact that I belive that animal testing must be abolished as soon as possible. First of all, the harmful use of animals in experiments is not only cruel but also often ineffective. Despite many decades of studying conditions such as cancer, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, in animals, we do not yet have reliable and fully effective cures. While human shares lots of similar characteristics (and even genetic material) with certain animals, the biological makeup of humans differs in significant ways from them. Secondly, animal testing violates ethics towards animals. According to the CNN survey, more than 100 million animals are tested and killed every year, this is just the estimated number of animals that are killed in labs due to animal testing every single year just in the United States alone. This number means desecrating the life and ethics of animals. It’s unconscionable how poorly these animals are treated. All in all, use of animals in experiments is unreasonable. The general public tends to believe that the animals who serve as research samples are kept under decent conditions. However, that isn’t always the case, and some of the experimentation itself is cruel to the animals. Animal testing that is extremely unlikely to contribute to breakthroughs will clearly result in disruption of ethics.