Analyse the advantages and disadvantages of the internet on young people and answer the question- ‘ Is the internet bad for young people’.

The growth of technology in recent years has made it easier than ever to access the internet be it at the office, home or even on the move. Undoubtedly, youth of current times are spending more and more time online, especially during the current pandemic. Although it has brought about numerous advantages, it does come with disadvantages. This essay will analyse both these aspects and answer the question. One of the major advantages of the internet to young people is that they can research any topic of their choice from the vast array of online sources. While it helps them do their homeworks, it also provides them with underlying facts as well general knowledge on similar topics, which most school books fail to address. Another most argued advantage is its ability to keep people connected- communicate and collaborate with people around the world at the comfort of one's own household. This level of connectivity has made online learning possible during the pandemic. However, like the flipsides of a coin, the internet has negative effects on the young generation such as addiction to online gaming whereby students waste precious study hours on pointless online games. This can later affect their academic performance as well as cognitive behavior. Another prominent impact is that the internet has incapacitated social norms and behaviours. Young generation lack the ability to communicate effectively in a social gathering and are engrossed in their smartphones. It has reached a point where the saying ‘man is a social animal’ needs to be rewritten. Thus, while the internet is good for young people in many ways, it does have negative impacts. If the usage is monitored, these disadvantages can be brought under control.