An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

The ongoing migration of skilled members of society to economically stable countries has become a dramatic issue for underdeveloped countries. This usually happens due to economic, political, social or environmental reasons and is causing labour shortages and less quality services and in both urban and rural areas, especially, in the sphere of education and health. Any country needs competent and experienced teaching staff and health professionals in their society. If teachers and professors start to leave their own countries, then this could lead to scarcity of specialists in many sectors of a country’s economy. Another drawback resulting from this phenomenon is that people might receive less quality education in educational institutions and health services in hospitals or clinics. As a result, they might become an unproductive specialist and produce ineffective outcomes in their respective professions and ill or permanently injured because of a bad medical expert. To solve the abovementioned issues, governments should be able to create favourable working conditions in terms of salary, allowances such as sickness and annual leave and other social benefits in order to retain good specialists within the country. If this is not maintained in the country, then leaving of good teachers or professors, engineers, doctors or other professionals to other better environments might be expected. Another solution could be for governments to try to find out the root causes of people abandoning their motherland, and think of ways to eradicate the obstacles. They can also awaken people’s feelings of love toward the country and urge them to make decisions to stay there. This might require to do surveys and other research activities to learn about the current situation and do appropriate situational analysis and make sound decisions. In short, migration of specialists for other countries is a significant factor leading to poor or improper delivery of services in many spheres of life. Of the solutions suggested, an increase of economic benefits seems to be a reasonable solution to keep professionals in the country. Though, changing people’s perception in regards to their motherland could also help to tackle this problem.