An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

Brain-drain has become a very well-known global issue of twenty first century, especially in the developing and underdeveloped countries. This essay sheds some light on the factors contributing to this problem and will also suggest some solutions for the same. Evidently, the migration of experts from their own country to a developed one, leads to two obvious outcomes: a decrease in professionals in the developing countries resulting brain drain and a negative impact on these countries’ economy. For instance, the recent immigration report has claimed that a plethora of doctors and IT professionals from India is applying for citizenship in the USA, Canada and Australia; thus, India is facing a huge deficiency of such skills. Furthermore, the migration of talents slows down the growth rate of the developing country. For example, when teachers leave their own country; teaching institutions fail to produce sharp students, which ultimately affects the future of a country’s economy. Meanwhile, there are myriad of solutions to overcome the migration problem. Firstly, the government should pay equivalent to what is being paid in developed countries. In fact, a recent study has concluded that hiking salary has helped in stopping professionals from moving to other countries. Another possible solution is to provide better job opportunity and work life balance to citizens. For instance, many IT companies in India are equally competent to create scopes for the local talents and they do emphasize on a better personal and professional life balance. To summarize, even though migration is an on growing problem which leads to a decrease in the number of professionals and affect the economy’s growth, it can be prevented by equivalent wage and suitable opportunities.