An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialise. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated?

In the age of technology, individuals all over the globe are surfacing the web, utilizing it to form bonds with other humans and expanding their circle. The internet has allowed interaction and conversation between people from any corner of the world and giving a platform to voice our opinions and thoughts with millions of others. However, it has also made people aloof and a shut-in, taking their ability to form meaningful contact and giving them social anxiety. With the constant advancements in the field of online communication, social media has minimized our distance and brought us closer by allowing us to text or message one another easily and efficiently as long as we have network. It has helped us form friendship with individuals from various nations and learn about their culture and traditions while also assisting in maintaining long distance relationships with family and significant other. The web has aided in finding ones having similar interests and problems and enabled us to confide in the said other person. It had made working easier by enabling colleagues to send and receive information via electronic mails. Companies can expand their business and grow their audience. More importantly, people are becoming more aware of many unfortunate events occurring in the world and sending their emotional and financial support with one click through message boards, campaign and relief websites, bringing mankind together in some kind of way. As there are many advantages using the internet, it is not surprising to say there exists a negative side too. Everyone is a minor celebrity having a tiny following on social media platforms. It is more than easier in the current state of the world for people to steal others identity and pretend as them. The deeper part of the web, dark web allowing people to sell illegal items and explicit multimedia and also allowing people to create their own disturbing chat rooms. Most of us hate the idea of confrontation as it exposes our vulnerable side. But with the internet, we can remain anonymous while sharing our ideas. It distances us from the real world and gets us addicted. it may cause people to not have friends in real life leaving them feeling lonely and depressed. Those who are not able to form social interactions have been able to do so online, the internet being a blessing. But is it really? because of such actions, those individuals may never gain the confidence to face the real world and form meaningful interaction with the people outside as it is extremely important that young children have and extend real friendships in order to develop their own interpersonal skills. In conclusion, internet is one of the greatest thing mankind has brought upon this world. Depending on how we use it, it may bring us benefits as well as bring disadvantages with it. It may have made people isolated to some extent but it still has so much positive benefits as it unites people together in a way.