An ancient, traditional treatment to help reduce obesity - coconut oil - has recently been proven effective. In a study completed last year, 50 volunteers who had issues maintaining a healthy weight were fed a special diet rich in coconut oil for 2 weeks

The author has mentioned a study conducted last year on 50 volunteers who were above the healthy weight. The study was to use coconut oil for their food instead of the regular cooking oil. During the study the food from outside was not allowed for the volunteers. The duration of the study was only for 2 weeks, and the author claimed that there was an average loss of 8 pounds for each volunteer. Coconut oil is known for its wide benefit but not yet proven to be a solution for obesity. Since the volunteers has cut outside food during the trial period it is unambiguously going to reduce their weight, as outside food is mostly unhealthy and rich with oils and sodium. So, by preventing them from outside food they will be forced to eat a healthy home made cooked food instead. In addition, the volunteers was constantly measuring their weight several times each day which made them more careful more when eating and it might be the eating portions and not about the food or the oil used itself. Furthermore, coconut oil is known for its strong flavour and smell so some of the volunteers might be avoiding meals containing it, therefore it could be reason of their weight loss. Moreover, the period of the trail it can't be used to prove such critical study. Two weeks is a short period of time, as well as the number of volunteers, as they are only 50 and their health background is not specified, neither their age group or the inherent problems. Phycological part also plays an important role, as if you were told that coconut oil will reduce some weight and they believed on it, it eventually will reflect on their reality. Other nutrition and physical activites were not mentioned in the claim. Nutrition itself does not reduce weight unless there was a good workout plan supporting it. Thus, it might be the case of those volunteers. To sum up, it is important to specifies all the aspects of the study to prove it correct. But that was not the case in this study. Also, it is important to account for the period of time and number of volunteers. in my opinion the main reason for the weight lost is cutting the outside food and not the coconut oil.