Although there are certain benefits of riding bicycles, people in some countries still avoid cycling and tend to use other means of transport. Why is it happening? Give suggestions on how to encourage people to use bicycles again.

It is a tendency that, although cycling is a low-impact aerobic exercise that offers a wealth of benefits, there are more and more people traveling by other vehicles instead of by bike. There are many reasons behind this problem, but I believe the governments can take practical actions to mitigate this problem. As the population rises, together with the increasing emergence of modern means of transport, there are two life-related issues behind this trend. First, cycling wastes a great deal of time. In other words, today, when a busy lifestyle has become trendy for numerous people, they tend to choose the faster means of transport to commute. By using motorized transportations to go to work, commuters can save a considerable amount of time, compared to using bicycles. Second, traveling by bike, to some extent, in some ways is not secure safe. In Vietnam, for example, bicycles run on the same lanes of the road as motorbikes and cars. Therefore So, if there is a collision or fall, it is dangerous for both cyclists and other people around them. However, the governments can carry out many actions to tackle this problem. One is that the government could supply free bicycles for everyone. This policy may motivate them to ride bikes more, especially those who could not afford other vehicles. In addition, the governments should invest more in building infrastructure networks that do not interfere with cycling. For instance, in the United States, a designated bicycle lane is always marked by a solid white stripe on the pavement and is restricted to bicyclists only. People would be likely to participate in active transportation, and they could avoid unforeseen accidents. In conclusion, the main reason why people avoid cycling is because of their hectic life. Nevertheless, this issue can be dealt with by governments’ the government’s appropriate policies.