the yellow turban rebellion

The Yellow Turban Rebellion was an assembly of farmers in China, happened around the year 160. This rebellion was against the Eastern Han dynasty in 184 during the reign of Emperor Ling of Han. Even though this rebellion was completely suppressed in 185, a small resistance group persisted and continued to resist in the following year, which took 21 years to defeat the entire rebellion. This name, Yellow Turban Rebellion, was created because of the yellow turbans that the rebels wore on their heads. From the reason that the Toa cult’s connection to this rebellion, it was a major point in the history of the Toa cult. The agricultural crisis in China's north triggered the Yellow Turban Rebellion. This crisis caused a dearth and a small flood along the lowlands of the Huang River and forced farmers to migrate to the South. Farmers suffered from excessive taxes and their landowners took advantage. They had to pay taxes for building fortress and walls along silk road to prevent an invasion from another countries. The true cause of the Yellow Turban Rebellion was the cheating of eunuchs in the royal palace especially eunuchs that were close to Emperor Ling. The Ten Attendants are a group of ten of the most powerful eunuchs. As a result, the emperor's rule was regarded as corrupt and inept. With the cooperation of all the warlords and consultants before the three separate groups, they completely defeated Yellow Turban Rebellion. Over wide areas, government offices had been destroyed, officials had been killed, and whole districts were cut off from the writ of the central government. Rebel deaths numbered in hundred thousand. Soon after, the Han dynasty was collapsed.