Although some people say it takes away some of our freedom, smoking should be banned in all public places.

Many people smoke and it is their freedom. However, where to smoke is debatable. I strongly believe that all smokers should stay away from public places Firstly, there is one clear, important reason to prohibit smoking in all public places for the sake of public health. This is because passive smoking can be very harmful to people around the smoker. Cigarette contains toxic chemicals such as nicotine and tar, and all these detrimental substances can be inhaled through passive smoking. This means smoking in public places can threaten others' health. For example, public places like parks, bus stops, and cinemas attract all kinds of people including those who are particularly weak and vulnerable such as babies, young children, pregnant women, and the elderly. These innocent people's health can be at risk when a smoker lights a cigarette recklessly. The smoker may have 'chosen' to smoke out of freedom, but others around him suffer the consequences against their will. Therefore, places where people are allowed to smoke should be restricted On the other hand, some people argue that constraining smoking in public areas takes away smokers' freedom. They claim that anyone is entitled to have freedom to do whatever they want. However, this is a selfish thought since not only does smoking affect the smoker alone but also it worsens many others' health. The concept of freedom is lost when it harms other people and interferes with others' freedom. It only seems logical to say that a smoker should take a step back in respect to many other people who are often unwillingly exposed to cigarette smoke In conclusion, smoking in all public places should be strictly banned for the purpose of public health. When an individual gives up this habit for the benefits of the public, our society will be a better place.