In modern times the language of young people has become more coarse and rude. Often old people and social conservatives complain about these ‘bad’ habits.

In recent times, the way young people communicate is being characterised by coarseness and vulgarity. Many conservatives and elderly people believe that these changes in language use are concerning. Although at times rude communication is not appropriate, I am of the opinion that in most cases, this kind of speaking is actually beneficial. There are several reasons why this rude form of communication could be considered problematic. First of all, swearing or using vulgar language is inappropriate and tactless in a variety of settings. Using this language around the elderly or sometimes even parents and bosses can cause offence. Furthermore, crude communication can make a bad impression in many circumstances. For example, when meeting someone for the first time in a work context, bad language can give a first impression of sloppiness and lack of professionalism. However, coarse and vulgar language actually has a number of significant advantages. One benefit is that speaking in a casual and rude way is a good way of ‘breaking the ice’. Sometimes swearing or using a double-entendre can allow people to relax and understand that everyone is equal. In addition, using bad language also gives the impression that a person is honest and real. If a person is coarse in their communication, they often seem more transparent and easier to trust. In conclusion, while in some contexts it is important to maintain appropriate levels of respect and formality in communication, I believe that coarse and rude language is more often than not useful for social interaction and thus is not a concern.