Compare and contrast the influences of friends and family on adolescent

Whether parents or friends have more influence on teens is a controversial topic among many researchers. However, it is undeniable that parents play an integral role in the development of teenagers, namely behaviors The family has greater impact on teenagers’ behavior than friends. Parental involvement in each stage of teens’ life affect their behaviors as an adult later on. For example, the National Longitudinal study of Adolescent Health found out that teens are less likely to use substance when there is the physical presence of a parent in the home. On the other hand, teens who are exposed to negative home environment also have tendency to behave badly. They can get involve in alcohol and tobacco consumption or interpersonal violence. In term of friends’ influence, although peer pressure could make teenagers act in some certain ways but they also could adjust their action under parental guidance. For instance, according to study carried out by Berndt and Keefe (1995), adolescents’ disruptive behavior at school was associated with the level of disruptive behavior of their friends. However, parents could teach children about right and wrong preventing them from perform this kind of behavior and make them become selective when choosing friends. Not only do family and peers affect teens’ behaviors, but they are also important factors on teens’ academic achievement. At school, the young can support each other s’ studying. Due to peer pressure, teens will have strong motivation to obtain academic success. However, parental involvement is also as important as peers. Adults have more experiences to give teens exact decisions. The young need advice guidance and skills from parents to reach achievement during study process. Besides, academic achievement is also caused by genes. Teenagers possessing intellectual heredity have a better academic performance. With regard to mental health, relationships between parents and peers both hold significant influences on adolescents. A research indicates that teenagers tend to be more courageous when facing challenges with their peer assistance. Furthermore, a healthy relationship with friends can nurture positive feelings of teenagers (NebFact, 211, 2007, G. Lingren). On another perspective, a harmful friendship friends can lead to an adverse psychotic condition in youth, which can directly cause common mental disorders such as depression, anxiety and hyperactivity disorder. Therefore, the psychological orientation of parents is much more essential than the peers. A survey conducted by the Office of Adolescent Health (2016) points out that 32% of 13- to 18-year-olds have to suffer from social anxiety disorders and that parents would help them to prevent these types of depressive experiences. In fact, parents are more likely to concern about children’ s mental illness than their friends. The prevention of psychological problems in adolescents can also improve their development of social, behavioural, physical and other outcomes. In conclusion, it is true that children’s action is partly shaped by their peers and largely formed by their home environment.