All students made to wear school uniform

Many schools require their students to wear a school uniform, but recently this policy has been criticised as being old-fashioned and even oppressive. Although I can sympathise with both sides of the argument, I fundamentally believe that uniforms are an essential component of school life and should be maintained for both practical and pedagogical reasons. There are several arguments in favour of every child wearing the same clothes to school. First of all, this ensures that every child is treated equally. Children from less well-off backgrounds may suffer from abuse and bullying if their clothes are perceived as ‘uncool’. Uniforms also give children a sense of identity and make young people feel that they are part of a close school community within which they can help each other. This sense of belonging is increasingly important in a world where people are becoming more and more isolated by technology. Having said that, there are considerable costs involved when parents have to purchase a whole new wardrobe that has to conform to strict uniform codes, for example sports gear and even standardised satchels in some cases. Children grow out of their clothes very quickly, and everyday wear and tear means these items have to be replaced frequently and at great expense. I also think that some students might feel stifled and repressed by being forced to wear clothes that they do not enjoy wearing. To conclude, I am strongly in favour of school uniforms for both practical and psychological reasons. If children want to express their individual style and taste through the way they dress, they have plenty of opportunities to do this in their free time