All scientific discoveries should be shared with scientists around the world; Governments and businesses should not keep any scientific discoveries secret.

Many claim that scientific discoveries should be shared with the public to facilitate scientific advances. In my opinion, however, the disadvantages of sharing scientific discoveries greatly overweigh the benefits. Firstly, it is insecure for people’s living that government and businesses share their discoveries worldwide. For example, the discovery of nuclear energy made a sensation throughout the world, leading to the invention of nuclear weapons, which are easily causing harm to society. During World War II in Japan, the atomic bomb designed and manufactured by the States caused untold death and suffering. It can be imagined that if a government who knows how to make an atomic bomb shares this technique worldwide, the result will be more severe than it was during that period, since the people who misuse science and technology for their own selfish motives can produce nuclear weapons to threaten people’s lives. Hence, many anti-war activists are against sharing scientific discoveries to the public. Secondly, sharing scientific discoveries is not conducive to protecting intellectual property. To be more specific, it is hard to identify the author of certain scientific discoveries if scientists from all over the world obtain the information of the discovery. So, scientists usually have disagreement about the ownership of some scientific discoveries. For instance, during the 14th and 15th centuries, people were passionate about science. Many governments and businesses shared their scientific discoveries with the public, but most of them were little known. Some great scientists took advantages of those scientific discoveries in their own paper, but didn’t mention the original author’s name of these discoveries. So, people so far don’t know those businesses who made great contributions to the development of science because their names were forgetten during the process of history. Therefore, it is unfair for some scientists if all scientific discoveries should be shared with the entire world. All in all, based on the above-mentioned discussion, I firmly believe that a government should not keep all scientific discoveries secret.