All parents want the best opportunity for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children specific skills but others think that having a range of subjects is better for a child’s future.

It is thought by some people that schools ought to teach children particular skills, whereas others believe that learning a diversity of subjects is better for their future. In my opinion, children should have a variety of subjects in their school curriculum as it can help them to explore their interests. Some parents believe that teaching a specific subject of their children’s interest helps them develop their skills in the best way possible. Hence, the child can easily master the subject of their interest at a younger age. Moreover, children can score better grades if they start learning the subjects of their liking. For instance, a child, who is more inclined towards learning music can be uninterested in learning other subjects leading to low grades and low self-esteem. Therefore, choosing a subject in which the child is interested or talented, is considered more beneficial by some parents. However, in my opinion, it is important for children to learn a variety of subjects at school. This is because all the subjects taught at the school level are essential for surviving in the world. A child may be interested in becoming a doctor or painter. This, however, does not mean that they should learn only medicine or painting from class 1. Everyone should have a basic understanding maths, science, geography, history and literature to be able to flourish in life. In other words, children should learn all subjects at school. They can pursue specialisation once they have completed high school. To conclude, in my opinion, children should learn different subjects in school and experience the taste of every subject. They can discover their interests only by exploring and it is necessary to know what each subject can offer before choosing the right one.