Online shopping is replacing offline or shopping from stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people prefer shopping through the internet rather than going into physical stores. It is certainly true that there are some noticeable benefits however, there are also drawbacks to both individual and society which I will discuss in this essay. Purchasing online with the help of technology has been proven convenient as it allows people to avail the goods that they need whenever and wherever they are thus, saving their time, money, and effort. Unlike local stores, online shops are always open, allowing the public to shop at their own convenience. For instance, if an individual ran out of household supplies, he could place it by midnight and get it the other day. Moreover, various online stores offer some discount coupon for people who patronize their shop, in turn, products cost cheaper than in physical stores. Furthermore, the public are being encouraged by the government to shop online as we are in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. By not spending time outdoors, such as in shopping malls or local markets, people can prevent the transmission of virus. On the other hand, shopping online could also bring negative consequences to every individual and the community. In fact, destruction of small businesses can lead to negative impact on the economy. Public markets, local grocery stores and even meat shops could not compete with large online stores especially in terms of availability and convenience. In turn, this could affect the income of people and their community. In addition, purchasing online involves various risks in fraud and theft such as phishing sites, hacking online bank account, identity theft and scams. Users of online shops must be vigilant when utilizing shopping websites. In conclusion, online shopping has both positive and negative development in an individual and the society. However, I am of the view that even though purchasing online offers conveniency, consumers must be wary in purchasing online.