Air transport popularity is causing problems in the society

Using air transport for holiday is getting more common. However, this also comes with an increasing issue of noise pollution and the need for more airports. The primary cause of this is the cheap price of tickets. There is a proposal that asks the government to curb air traffic by introducing a heavier tax for air transportation. Personally, I disagree with this idea since it can negatively impact the citizens and the economy. If a higher tax is introduced, this might cause a significant profit loss to some part of the airline business. An increase of ticket price is inevitable when the companies are being taxed heavily, which is not ideal for low-cost flights that centralizes its business model by providing a cheaper alternative of travel. Even though this might reduce the number of air traffic, this could lead to bankrupcy for these companies that offers affordable price. More companies going bankrupt is not a good sign for the economy as a whole. Secondly, the citizens who live in popular tourist spots might lose revenue. Cheap passenger flight is the main reason why some people want to travel because the highest cost of travel is due to the plane ticket. Furthermore, ticket to popular destinations are usually cheap to boost the tourism and local businesses around the area. However, the increase of ticket price means the decrease of profit for the citizens because less visitors from other cities would visit their business. In conclusion, heavier taxation to the airline business might lessen the number of air traffic. However, the economy for both the citizen and the airline can suffer.