A country where you would like to work for a short time Say where you would like to work What kind of job you would like to do When you would like to go And why you wish to work there

I have to confess that both my best friend Athira and I are persons full of wanderlust and together we have hatched a plan to work in foreign soil for a short while. As undergraduates, we used to dream about going overseas just to explore a new place, meet new people and experience a different culture. Of course we thought it would just be a pipe dream as both of us did not have the funds to travel overseas. However, we landed on the perfect solution, which is a Working holiday Visa. Hours of researching and googling revealed that many countries offer Working Holiday Visa programmes which allow us to apply to work and travel for upto one year and from among the different countries which offer this scheme, both of us zeroed in on New Zealand. . What makes this country a top work destination is the attractive work life balance. With the focus being on working to live, rather than living to work, there is more of a laid back approach. Work hours are not too high and expats are not overworked, yet the income that can be earned is on par with that of other countries. This means that we won’t be up to our neck in gruelling, backbreaking work and there would be plenty of time to enjoy as well as explore the stunning beauty of this country. New Zealand is famous for its diverse landscapes ranging from tropical beaches to mountain glaciers and the huge variety of outdoor activities we can do, makes it the adventure capital of the world. Another bonus of this country is that It is not difficult finding work, as there are plenty of temporary jobs for backpackers in the hospitality and tourism sectors as well as in the fruit orchards and vineyards. Of course, the most alluring aspect is that the Kiwis are known to be extremely warm, friendly and welcoming. and expats generally feel at home in this country. Athira and I hope to pack our bags and leave for this country in the not too distant future and we are sure this would not only be a life changing experience but also a steep learning curve for us.